[Top][All Lists]

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Alonzo Church Award - Call for Nominations

From: geoff
Subject: Alonzo Church Award - Call for Nominations
Date: Fri, 5 Jan 2018 12:00:30 -0500 (EST)

The 2018 Alonzo Church Award for 
Outstanding Contributions to Logic and Computation

Call for Nominations


An annual award, called the Alonzo Church Award for Outstanding Contributions 
to Logic and Computation, was established in 2015 by the ACM Special Interest 
Group for Logic and Computation (SIGLOG), the European Association for 
Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS), the European Association for Computer 
Science Logic (EACSL), and the Kurt G??del Society (KGS). The award is for an 
outstanding contribution represented by a paper or by a small group of papers 
published within the past 25 years. This time span allows the lasting impact 
and depth of the contribution to have been established. The award can be given 
to an individual, or to a group of individuals who have collaborated on the 
research.  For the rules governing this award, see:

The 2017 Alonzo Church Award was given jointly to Samson Abramsky, Radha
Jagadeesan, Pasquale Malacaria, Martin Hyland, Luke Ong, and Hanno Nickau for
providing a fully-abstract semantics for higher-order computation through the
introduction of game models, see:

Eligibility and Nominations

The contribution must have appeared in a paper or papers published within the
past 25 years. Thus, for the 2018 award, the cut-off date is January 1, 1993.
When a paper has appeared in a conference and then in a journal, the date of 
the journal publication will determine the cut-off date. In addition, the
contribution must not yet have received recognition via a major award, such as
the Turing Award, the Kanellakis Award, or the G??del Prize. (The nominee(s) 
may have received such awards for other contributions.) While the contribution 
can consist of conference or journal papers, journal papers will be given a

Nominations for the 2018 award are now being solicited. The nominating letter
must summarise the contribution and make the case that it is fundamental and
outstanding. The nominating letter can have multiple co-signers. Self-
nominations are excluded. Nominations must include: a proposed citation (up to 
25 words); a succinct (100-250 words) description of the contribution; and a
detailed statement (not exceeding four pages) to justify the nomination.
Nominations may also be accompanied by supporting letters and other evidence of

Nominations should be submitted to 
by March 1, 2018.

Presentation of the Award

The 2018 award will be presented at ICALP 2018, the International Colloquium 
on Automata, Languages and Programming. The award will be accompanied by an 
invited lecture by the award winner, or by one of the award winners. The 
awardee(s) will receive a certificate and a cash prize of USD 2,000. If there 
are multiple awardees, this amount will be shared.

Award Committee

The 2018 Alonzo Church Award Committee consists of the following five members:
Thomas Eiter, Javier Esparza, Catuscia Palamidessi (chair), Gordon Plotkin, and
Natarajan Shankar.

reply via email to

[Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread]