[Top][All Lists]

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Dov Gabbay Prize for Logic and Foundations

From: geoff
Subject: Dov Gabbay Prize for Logic and Foundations
Date: Wed, 30 Nov 2022 05:50:12 -0500 (EST)

Call for Nominations: Dov Gabbay Prize for Logic and Foundations


The ''Dov Gabbay Prize for Logic and Foundations'' is a new international
research prize established to honour the extraordinary, multi-faceted
scientific contributions of Prof. Dov Gabbay, known among others for editing 
an extensive collection of Logic Handbooks. It has been launched on the 
occasion of Dov's 77th birthday this October (Short bio:

The prize aims at rewarding outstanding researchers in Logic and Foundations, 
including Mathematical, Philosophical, and Computational Logic. It pays special
attention to work combining - ideally - foundational insight and conceptual 
innovation with sophisticated theoretical analysis.

The winner will receive a cash prize 2001 EUR and be invited to give a talk 
(accessible for an online audience) at a major logic centre or a logic-related 
meeting in 2023, depending on the recipient's research area. Specific efforts 
will be made to promote the rewarded scientific work.


Each nomination of a researcher should provide an accessible justification and 
list the main publications considered relevant.

It should also include the name, affiliation, and email address of the
nominator. Self-nominations are not allowed, the nominee should not be a
hierarchic superior of the nominator.

Proposals in pdf-format are to be sent to "dgp[at]iloaf[dot]org". The deadline 
for this call is January 31, 2023. Early submissions in December are 


The selection is made by an independent jury consisting of six internationally 
renowned logicians representing Mathematical, Philosophical, and Computational 

    Johan van Benthem (Amsterdam University/U Stanford)
    Christoph Benzmueller (University of Bamberg)
    Agata Ciabattoni (TU Vienna)
    Laura Giordano (Università del Piemonte Orientale)
    Hannes Leitgeb (LMU Munich)
    Philip Welch (University of Bristol)

The winner of the 2022 call will be announced in May 2023.


Prize and process are managed by the "Logic and Foundations Initiative
(ILOAF)", which aims at initiating and supporting scientific and educational 
activities in Logic and Foundations. It is currently sponsored by the 
Luxembourg Logic Community.


For any questions, please contact the organizing committee via


reply via email to

[Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread]